Loyola Men Are 2009 MAAC Swimming and Diving Champions

Feb. 14, 2009

Baltimore, Md. - The Loyola men's swimming and diving team claimed the 2009 Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Championship title on Saturday evening at the Mangione Aquatic Center at Loyola College.

Captains E.J. Verrico and Matthew Shaw accepted the MAAC trophy on behalf of the men's team along with Head Coach Brian Loeffler and Assistant Coaches Liz Chlebda and Jayme Adams.

Loyola won the crown with a total of 843.50 points. Rider University followed in second with 762 points and Marist College came in third with 625 points.

On the women's side, Loyola finished in third place with 727 points. Marist came in second with 764 points, and the Rider Broncs took the MAAC title with 770.50 points.

On Day Three in the competition, the Loyola men kicked things off with a couple second place finishes. Sam McQuaid clocked in at 1:50.91 to take the number two spot in the 200 Backstroke and Brad Reeser finished at 45.24 for second place in the 100 Freestyle.

Loyola continued with a couple of victories, first in the 200 Breast with Matthew Fralinger clocking in at 2:00.54 to set a new MAAC record. Ozzy Torres followed with a first place finish in the 200 Fly with a 1:50.19 time, besting his 2008 finish by two seconds.

The men's team also had the number two spot in the 400 Freestyle Relay behind Reeser, Verrico, McQuaid and Jacob Drannan. The team finished at 3:00.94.

The Greyhounds finished the 2009 Championships with eight first place wins, seven MAAC records and one pool record.

The Greyhound women also had a successful third day in the pool, starting with Megan Shovlin's second place finish in the 1,650 Freestyle event. She touched the pad at 17:10.42.

Loyola took the top two spots in the women's 200 Breast with Courtney Trivino finishing at 2:22.43 for the win, followed by Kim Krzaczek at 2:23.27 for second place.

The women's team finished in second place in the 400 Freestyle Relay, clocking in at 3:29.31 right behind Rider's team. The foursome included Caitlin Cassidy, Emily Benton, Lauren Mari and Victoria Kamauff.

The Greyhound women finished the Championships with three first place finishes and one new MAAC record.

To see all preliminary and final results, click on Loyola's 2009 Championship Results.