Greyhounds Cap Off Regular Season In Record-Setting Fashion

Feb. 4, 2012

Final Stats

EMMITTSBURG, MD - The Loyola University Maryland swimming and diving team broke 13 school records and seven pool on Saturday, while the women's team won seven events, en route to a 147-115 victory at Mount St. Mary's in the squads final regular-season meet.

Caitlin Cronin won four events and set six school and pool records to lead the women's team. The sophomore won the 100-meter short course freestyle in 1:00.44 and the 200-meter SC freestyle in a new pool record time of 2:06.84, while she also anchored the 400-meter SC medley relay team of Mary Henkels, Maya Olivieri and Erin Shea to a new pool record time of 4:32.20. In addition, she led off the 200-meter SC freestyle relay team of Lauren Mari, Meghan Barry and Mary Henkels that finishes runner-up in 1:51.78. All four of those times are new school records.

In addition, Henkels and Olivieri also set new school and pool records, as Henkels won the 100 SC meter backstroke in 1:06.97 and Olivieri claimed the 100 SC meter backstroke title in 1:17.39.

In the 200-meter SC butterfly, Courtney Trivino broke the school record with her runner-up finish in 2:26.36.

Led by Noelle Staib's, Loyola swept the 200 SC meter breaststroke. Staib touched first in a new pool record time of 2:49.09, while Courtney Chenet was second in 2:52.75 and Stephanie Baliko was third in 2:59.37.

Rounding out the women's top performances is Mari, who was victorious in the 50 SC meter freestyle, finishing first in 27.81, and Brianna Keelan, who won the 100 SC meter freestyle in 1:02.50.

The men, swimming in exhibition events with no team score, set six new school records, while Joe Wise broke the American Paralympic Record in the SB9 50-meter SC breaststroke and the 100-meter SC breaststroke (1:21.91).

Brennan Morris led the way with two school records - winning the 100-meter SC backstroke in 57.64 and teaming with Jeffrey Rowe, Patrick Mukri and Tony Florida to win the 400-meter SC medley relay in 4:01.33.

Rowe and Florida were also a member of the 200-meter SC freestyle relay with Julien Brice and Zachary Eller that set a new school record with their time of 1:36.51.

In addition, Julien Brice won the 50-meter SC freestyle in a school record time of 24.05.

Rounding out the record-breaking performances were Ben Duva and Ryan Shovlin. Duva broke the school record in the 1500-meter SC freestyle with his time of 16:38.70 and Ryan Shovlin made his way to the top of the record boards in the 400-meter SC IM, touching in 4:47.23.

The meet marked the final tune-up for the 2012 MAAC Championships. The conference meet is schedule to run Thursday, Feb. 16 through Saturday, Feb. 18., at Erie Community College in Buffalo, N.Y.