Men's Swimming Posts MAAC Win At Rider

Jan. 16, 2010


Complete Results


LAWRENCEVILLE, N.J. - Loyola University Maryland's men's swimming and diving team won 13 of 14 races on Saturday and defeated host Rider University, 177.5-116.5 in Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference action.

Ozzy Torres and Brennan Morris each won three events for the Greyhounds, and Matt Fralinger picked up a pair of first-place finishes.

Morris set Coppola Pool records in the 200-yard backstroke, 1,000-yard freestyle and the 500-yard freestyle, and Torres pool record in the 100-yard butterfly

Despite a pair of wins by Courtney Trivino, the women's side fell to the Broncs, 174-116.

Loyola's men opened the meet with a victory in the 200-yard medley relay, as Sam McQuaid, Colin Chenet, Torres and Brad Reeser swam a time of 1:35.87.

Morris and Patrick Mukri then went 1-2 in the first individual event, the 1,000-yard freestyle, with times of 9:24.99 and 10:02.78, respectively.

Morris' time in the event set a school record, shaving almost 10 seconds off the previous mark, 9:34.41, set last season by Mukri.

Brad Reeser posted a first-place touch in the 200-yard freestyle (1:43.57).

Fralinger and Colin Chenet locked in a tight 100-yard breaststroke battle during the next men's race. Fralinger got to the wall first in 59.32 with Chenet just 0.53 behind.

Torres posted the first of his victories in the 200-yard butterfly, swimming 1:54.93. He came back minutes later to lead a 1-2-3 sweep by the Greyhounds in the 100-yard freestyle. Loyola showcased its sprint depth in the event, as Torres won in 48.21, while Reeser (48.63) and Zach Oster (48.65) were right behind.

Morris was a winner in the 200-yard backstroke (1:50.65), and Fralinger (2:09.21) and Chenet (2:14.75) had another 1-2 finish in the 200-breaststroke.

Jacob Drannan and Mukri were neck-and-neck at the finish of the 500-yard freestyle, with Drannan edging his teammate for the victory in 4:51.12. Mukri finished second five one-hundredths of a second behind.

Torres posted a win by over two seconds in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 50.95, and Morris won the 200-yard individual medley (1:54.66).

The Greyhounds 400-yard freestyle relay team of Tony Florida, Jonathan Wertz, Morris and Oster wrapped up the meet, clocking a time of 1:54.66 to win the event.

Trivino was the lone winner on the women's side for Loyola. She touched the wall first in the 100-yard backstroke (1:09.67) and 200-yard breaststroke (2:29.24).

Megan Shovlin had two second-place finishes for the Greyhounds in the 1,000-yard freestyle (10:39.45) and the 500-yard freestyle (5:14.62). Meg Royer took second in the 50-yard freestyle (25.47).

Loyola's men, who won the 2009 MAAC title, are now 3-0 in conference action after defeating Marist and Iona in December.

The teams are back in action on Saturday, January 23, 2010, when they step out of MAAC competition for a 1 p.m. meet at Towson. The Greyhounds will face the host Tigers and James Madison.