Andrea Rovegno and Ryan Reeser Garner Top Honors At Loyola Senior Banquet

April 30, 2007

Baltimore, Md. - Seniors Andrea Rovegno and Ryan Reeser were named recipients of the Ernest Lagna and John R. Mohler Awards at the Loyola College senior banquet on Monday night. Rovegno, a member of the women's cross country and track teams took home the highest honor for a female senior student-athlete, while Reeser represented the men's swimming and diving team with the top male senior student-athlete award.

The Lagna Award is given annually by the Varcalle family to a senior female who has achieved a strong academic standing, as well as significant athletic accomplishment. Rovengo was a four-year standout on the cross country team and a leader of the track team as an Academic All-MAAC selection and two-time All-Region honoree. This season, she captured the individual cross country title at Navy and earned Top-20 finishes at the NCAA Cross Country Regionals and Pre-Nationals.

The Mohler Award is presented annually to a senior male student-athlete who has excelled in the areas of athletics, scholarship and character. Reeser excelled in all three with another record-breaking year in the pool. The Loyola senior broke school records in the 500-yard freestyle and 200-yard freestyle relay, and his times in the 100 Free, 200 Fly, and 400 Free Relay are also second on Loyola's all-time performance list.

Like the Lagna and Mohler Awards, the Athletic Department's Medals of Merit Awards recognize student-athletes who have combined academic and athletic excellence. This year's winners were Kate McHarg from the women's lacrosse team and Cory Coffman from the men's lacrosse team. Both have excelled in the classroom as well as on the field in not only their senior year, but throughout their four years at Loyola.

The Leadership Awards recognize student-athletes who display the qualities of integrity, enthusiasm, initiative, leadership and physical and moral courage. The women had a pair of Leadership honorees in Colleen Depman of the cross country and track teams, and Brittany Dunn of the women's basketball team. For the men, lacrosse senior co-captain Jordan Rabidou garnered the award.

Loyola's Fr. Francis McManamin Unsung Hero Awards were presented to Meagan Parrott of the women's swimming and diving team and Josko Alujevic of the men's basketball team. Both of these seniors lead by example, and have truly served as role models with their hard work and determination and making their respective programs better.

Other award winners on Monday night included senior swimmer Tim Hoover, who was honored with the Diane Geppi-Aikens Inspiration Award for overcoming obstacles and adversity, and a pair of seniors who boasted the top GPAs of their class. Ed Garnett of the men's crew team and Katelyn Woods of the women's soccer team earned this distinction, while the women's cross country team was honored for the highest team GPA for the second time in four years.

2007 Senior Banquet Honorees
Ernest Lagna Award
Andrea Rovegno

John R. Mohler Award
Ryan Reeser

Medals of Merit
Cory Coffman
Kate McHarg

Leadership Awards
Colleen Depman
Brittany Dunn
Jordan Rabidou

Fr. Francis McManamin Unsung Hero Awards
Josko Alujevic
Meagan Parrott

Diane Geppi-Aikens Inspiration Award
Tim Hoover

Top Senior GPAs
Ed Garnett
Katelyn Woods