Rowing Takes On Region's Elite at Murphy Cup Saturday

April 2, 2010

Coming off a strong showing at the Occoquan Sprints last weekend against Duke, Temple, Georgetown, George Mason, North Carolina, and other tough crews, the Loyola rowing team looks to maintain that momentum as they compete at the Murphy Cup, April 3 on the Schuylkill River.

The Women’s Varsity 8 faces a deep field of several very good crews such as George Mason, Bucknell and Lehigh, but after defeating the Patriots and Georgetown last weekend while chasing solid rowers from Bucknell, Duke and Temple, head coach Al Ramirez is “encouraged” and hopes to see the boat advance to one of the two finals.

Racing two entries in both the Women’s and Men’s Varsity 4, Coach Ramirez is confident that at least one of each will advance to the finals later in the day.

The Men’s Varsity 8 has been improving in each of the last two races and hope to row well enough to advance to one of the finals. The men will face stiff competition from several Mid-Atlantic programs such as Fordham, Lehigh, and Saint Joseph’s, as well as a few out of region teams such as Williams and Jacksonville.

The Lightweight men face the challenge of racing against some good crews like Penn State and Lafayette, but the goal is for this race to give them the experience they will need to compete at their highest levels at the MAAC Championships April 18.

Murphy Cup Lineups:
Thomas Quinn-cox, Nick Miano, Jordan Mastera, Michael Faust, Marc Hesse, Maciej Owsianny, Ryan Walsh, Josh Tarini, Christopher Golon

WV8: Katherine Griffin-cox, Kelly McDermott, Sheila Marsicovetere, Daisy Carter, Leslie Ann Perez, Catriona Miller, Elizabeth Staub, Kimberly Winiarczyk and Julianne Roccuzzo.

A) Thomas Quinn-cox: Nick Miano, Marc Hesse, Michael Faust, Jordan Mastera
B) Kimberly Winiarczyk/Steven Bitondo-cox, Maciej Owsianny, Ryan Walsh, Thomas Kelly, Daniel Keenan

A) Lauren Walsh/Katherine Griffin-cox, Kelly McDermott, Sheila Marsicovetere, Daisy Carter, Elizabeth Staub/Catriona Miller
B) Lauren Walsh/Katherine Griffin-cox, Meghan Fregeau, Margaret Ajello, Helen O'Connell, Olivia Duckworth

WN4: Lauren Walsh-cox, Emily Ehmann, Alex Spark, Susan O'Rourke, Erin Mulhern

MN4: Steven Bitondo-cox, George Martinecz, Patrick Timlin, Paul Kalkbrenner, Michael Skopelitis

ML4: Thomas Quinn-cox, Josh Tarini, Christopher Golon, Daniel Keenan, Michael Skopelitis