Men's and Women's Varsity Eights Win Mid-Atlantic Crew Championship

May 9, 2005

Fairfax, Va. - Loyola's men's varsity eight boat cruised to a time of 6:55.80 to capture its first Mid-Atlantic Crew Championship since 2001 while the Greyhound women rowed a time of 8:00.30 to capture the Mid-Atlantic title on Saturday at the Occoquan River.

The men's varsity eight, stroked by Will Farrell and coxswained by Alex Brown, defeated second-place and frequent Mid-Atlantic winner, George Mason by more than four seconds. With the win, Loyola picked up the Charlie Butt trophy, which is and has been awarded to the men's varsity eight Mid-Atlantic winner since 1993, for the second time in program history.

Loyola's women dominated the field in rolling to an easy 8.7 second victory over Penn State. Junior captain Courtney Toms led the charge and was helped by the addition of two freshmen in Lauren Corcoran and Nikki Yaeger, who made their inaugural appearance in the varsity eight boat.

Greyhound head coach Al Ramirez was especially happy with the way his women rebounded from last year's 0.3-second loss to Drexel at Mid-Atlantic's. Of course, this year, Loyola put doubt to rest early with their time of 8:00.30.

The women's varsity four, led by Liz Gunner, Liz McDowell, and Caitlin Welch, earned Loyola's other win of the day in blowout fashion. The Greyhounds (9:23.20) ousted Sacred Heart by almost 45 seconds and Maryland by more than one minute.

Loyola's women's novice eight (8:52) took third behind William and Mary and VCU, the men's varsity four took fifth (8:34.70) in the petite final, the men's lightweight four took fourth (8:03.10), and the men's novice four (8:25.70) won their heat, but finished fifth in the grand final.