Men's Varsity Eight Wins To Lead Rowing At Hopkins Invitational

April 11, 2005

Baltimore, Md. - Loyola's men's varsity eight boat rowed a time of 6:52.2 to defeat George Mason by five seconds and earn a win at Saturday's Johns Hopkins Crew Invitational held on the Patapsco River.

Greyhound Head Coach Al Ramirez called the victory the "highlight of the weekend" and was pleased that Loyola managed to defeat some strong crews. The boat was coxswained by Jose Ilao and consisted of Will Farrell, Rob Von Hagen, Ed Garnett, Doug Brown, Mike Farrell, Dan Reardon, Alex Bernard, and Sean McElroy.

Loyola's women's varsity four boat of coxswain Kristen Gorman and rowers Courtney Toms, Lauren Opalenski, Colleen Johnson, and Katya Krieger-Redwood posted a win over Hopkins with their time of 8:25.60.

The other win on the day for the Greyhounds came from the men's varsity pair, Farrell and Von Hagen, as they cruised to a 12-second victory over Hopkins and SUNY Maritime.

Please check out full results listed below.

Men's Varsity 4+: Heat 21. Johns Hopkins "A"7:27.12. Maryland7:32.03. Loyola7:40.64. SUNY Maritime7:45.3

Men's Varsity 4+ Final1. Mary Washington7:13.72. George Mason7:13.83. Johns Hopkins "A"7:28.74. Maryland7:34.75. Loyola7:45.06. Johns Hopkins "B"7:51.6

Women's Varsity 4+1. Loyola8.25.62. Johns Hopkins8:30.6

Men 2-1. Loyola8:52.52. Johns Hopkins9:04.33. SUNY Maritime10:17.5

Men's Lightweight 4+1. Mary Washington7:32.82. Maryland7:39.73. Johns Hopkins7:49.14. Loyola8:21.4

Men's Varsity 8+1. Loyola6:52.22. George Mason6:57.63. Johns Hopkins6:57.74. SUNY Maritime7:11.85. Maryland7:14.86. Mary Washington7:22.8