Loyola Athletics Celebrates Holiday Season, Exceptional 2012

Dec. 17, 2012

View on a mobile device

The year 2012 was one to remember for Loyola University Maryland fans. The Greyhounds kicked off the year in memorable fashion when the men's basketball team won its first Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference title since 1994 and advanced to the NCAA Tournament. Picking up excited fans, proud alumni, parents and friends along the way, the Greyhounds took us on a ride that spanned numerous accomplishments not only on their playing surfaces, but in the classroom as well.

Join our coaches and student-athletes as we relive some of 2012 highlights with our own version of the 12 Days of Christmas.

Twelve Greyhounds were tabbed a player of the year in their respective sports and conferences. Former golfer Jay Mulieri won the MAAC title, while teammate Bart George earned MAAC Rookie of the Year honors. Freshman Larry Ndjock also earned MAAC Rookie of the Year honors, while three Greyhounds earned Defensive Player of the Year accolades - Katie Sheahin (women's basketball, MAAC), Scott Ratliff (men's lacrosse, ECAC) and Didi Haracic (women's soccer, MAAC). Brennan Morris and Caitlin Cronin were named the MAAC Men's and Women's Swimmers of the Year, respectively, while Justin Drummond was the MAAC Sixth Man of the Year in men's basketball. Women's lacrosse All-Americans Kellye Gallagher and Marlee Paton garnered BIG EAST Defender and Midfielder of the Year honors, respectively, and Nichole Schiro became the first player in league history to earn MAAC Offensive Player of the Year honors in women's soccer for three-straight years.

Loyola coaches and student-athletes graced the cover of eleven magazines throughout the year, including Lacrosse Magazine, Inside Lacrosse, Press Box Magazine and Loyola Magazine.

In June, it was announced that Loyola's men's athletic programs finished the 2011-12 academic year tied for ten th in the Capital One Cup standings. The Greyhounds totaled 60 points to finished tied with North Dakota State and are the smallest school to finish in the top 10 on either the men's or women's side in the Cup's history. 

Loyola had nine student-athletes earn All-America honors in 2012. Kellye Gallagher and Marlee Paton became the first pair of women's lacrosse student-athletes to garner first-team IWLCA All-America honors since 2003. The men's lacrosse team had seven players named to the USILA All-America teams. Mike Sawyer was a second-team honoree, while Scott Ratliff earned a spot on the third team. Eric Lusby, Reid Acton, Davis Butts, Josh Hawkins and Joe Fletcher were all honorable mention All-Americans. 

The NCAA recognized eight Greyhound programs for academic success in June. The men's cross country, women's basketball, men's swimming and diving, men's and women's tennis, women's crew, women's indoor track and field and women's outdoor track and field - were all in the top-10 percent of NCAA Division I schools in the multi-year tracking of the Academic Progress Rate (APR). This marked the third-straight year that Loyola had more teams recognized than any other school in the MAAC. 

Seven players were named Tournament MVPs throughout the year. Faye Lukas was named the MVP of the Marriott Greyhound Classic after leading the volleyball team to the tournament title. Erik Etherly was tabbed the MAAC Tournament MVP after leading the men's basketball team to the conference title. Jay Mulieri led the golf team to a conference title, breaking the team score tournament record by nine strokes. Kerry Stoothoff became the first player in BIG EAST history to earn Tournament MVP honors in back-to-back seasons after leading the women's lacrosse team to a second-straight BIG EAST title and Scott Ratliff led the men's lacrosse team to the ECAC title, earning MVP honors. Teammate Eric Lusby then broke the NCAA Championships scoring record to earn NCAA Tournament MVP honors after leading the team to the national title and in women's soccer, Gigi Mangione was named the Tournament MVP for a second time after leading the Greyhounds to the MAAC title.

The Greyhounds had multiple milestones hit and program bests reached throughout the year, while six programs had individual records broken. In addition to the swimming and diving and women's track and field teams breaking multiple school records throughout the year, Katie Sheahin shattered the women's basketball all-time program record for steals. Both Mike Sawyer and Eric Lusby eclipsed the previous men's lacrosse record for goals scored in a season, with Lusby passing Sawyer late in the year and finishing as the new single-season leader. Jay Mulieri also concluded his career as the golf program's school record holder for stroke average, while Nichole Schiro became the first person in women's soccer history to record 100 career points.

Loyola had five teams capture three different conference titles and advance to the NCAA Tournament play this year. The men's basketball team won its second MAAC title in program history - and its first since 1994 - in March. The golf team then won its fifth-straight MAAC title in April, before the men's lacrosse team won the ECAC Championship and the women's lacrosse team claimed the BIG EAST title in May, giving the Greyhounds three championships in one week. The women's soccer team then closed out the year by upsetting top-seeded Marist in the finals of the MAAC Tournament in November to win its 10th title in program history.

Four coaches garnered multiple coach of the year honors throughout the year. Men's basketball head coach Jimmy Patsos was named the MAAC Coach of the Year, in addition to earning NABC District I Coach of the Year and the Skip Prosser Man of the Year honors. Women's lacrosse head coach Jen Adams was voted the IWLCA Mid-Atlantic Coach of the Year for the second-straight year and men's lacrosse coach Charley Toomey earned ECAC Coach of the Year honors and was recently named the winner of the Morris Touchstone Award as the USILA National Coach of the Year. In tennis, head coach Rick McClure was named the MAAC Women's Coach of the Year.

Three different programs had a student-athlete honored as an Academic All-Americans. Ryan McCarthy and Patrick McCormick became the first pair of golfers to earn Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar honors in the same season, while women's soccer's Nichole Schiro earned a spot on the Capital One Academic All-America First Team and NSCAA University Division Scholar All-America Third Team. Stephen Dooley was also a third-team honoree on the NSCAA Men's Soccer University Division Scholar All-America team.

Loyola had two teams defend conference titles this year, as the golfers won their fifth-straight MAAC Championship and the women's lacrosse team claimed its second-straight BIG EAST title.

And last, but most definitely not least, Loyola won one NCAA Championship in 2012. The men's lacrosse team became the first team in Loyola history to win a national title at the Division I level.