Ali Andrzejewski Named MAAC Co-Student Athlete Of The Year

Sept. 6, 2006

Baltimore, Md. - Ali Andrzejewski, along with Iona's Richard Kiplagat and Siena's Liz Hubbard were named the 2005-06 MAAC Student-Athletes of the Year, the league office announced today. Andrzejewski set Loyola women's soccer records for scoring in just two seasons at Evergreen, dominating MAAC play in the process.

"Ali is one of those extraordinary student-athletes that has taken advantage of every opportunity Loyola has to offer; on the field, in the classroom and in service to her community," says Loyola Director of Athletics Joe Boylan. "She not only is a special student-athlete, but is also she's a special person. We are thrilled for her to receive this honor."

Andrzejewski, a 5-7 senior from Lutherville, Md., earned the honor after setting school records with 33 career goals and 75 career points. She scored 15 goals and added two assists in 2005. Andrzejewski led the Greyhounds in goals, points and game-winning goals starting from her arrival prior to the 2004 season. During her two years, the Greyhounds posted an 18-0 regular season record against MAAC opponents.

Andrzejewski was also named the 2004 and 2005 MAAC Offensive Player of Year, and earned a spot on the 2005 All Mid-Atlantic Region First Team. A two-time member of the MAAC All-Academic Team and a member of the CoSIDA/ESPN Academic All-District Team, Andrzejewski graduated with a 3.46 GPA in psychology.

"The MAAC's mission statement notes that the conference was formed to provide member institutions the opportunity to conduct men's and women's intercollegiate athletics within a context that holds paramount the academic programs of member institutions and the academic and personal growth of the student participants," MAAC Commissioner Rich Ensor said. "These three student-athletes reinforce the validity of the core beliefs of the conference and that students can be successful in both the classroom and their chosen sports. The MAAC membership congratulates them on their outstanding efforts."

Kiplagat, a 6-0 senior from Marakwet, Kenya, captured his third career MAAC Cross Country title in 2005, the sixth Gael to win two or more league cross country crowns. He finished first in the 2005 NCAA Division I Cross Country Northeast Regional and was second overall at the 2005 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championship. A four-time member of Iona's Dean List, Kiplagat earned his master's degree in financial management with a 3.77 grade point.

Hubbard, a 6-1 senior from Newark, Del., finished her volleyball career with the Saints with 234 blocks, ranking her sixth all-time in school history, while adding 687 kills. As last season's captain, she helped lead Siena to its first MAAC Championship in ten years and earned a spot in the 2005 MAAC All-Tournament Team. Hubbard graduated with a 3.98 GPA in biology.

The MAAC Committee on Athletic Administration created the MAAC Student-Athlete of the Year award in October 2001 to recognize overall excellence in the classroom, on the playing field and in the community. Each MAAC member selected one male and one female nominee for the honor. The conference sports information directors vote to determine one overall winner for men and women. The conference awards honorable mention awards to each nominee. Nominees must have at least a 3.2 overall grade point average, be in their second year of residence at the institution, and be a starter or important reserve on their team.

Honorable mentions were awarded to the following nominees: Canisius College - Kiel Illg (men's lacrosse), Katie Miranto (softball); Fairfield University - Ed Meyer (men's soccer), Tara Hansen (softball); Iona College - Mikaela Hogg (volleyball); Loyola College - James Harris (men's swimming); Manhattan College - John Fitzpatrick (baseball), Caryn Capalbo (cross country/track); Marist College - Tomislav Rogic (men's soccer), Meghan Duffy (women's diving); Niagara University - Andrew MacNevin (baseball), Brittany Bisnott (women's soccer); Rider University - Daniel Burgess (men's swimming), Caitlin Crawbuck (women's tennis); Saint Peter's College - Scott Bonnono (football), Angelina Albruzzese (women's soccer); Siena College - Bryan Bigley (men's golf).