Truncellito And Turcinov Take Home Top Honors At Loyola Awards Banquet

April 26, 2005

Baltimore, Md. - Jackie Truncellito and Marko Turcinov were named this year's top senior athletes at Loyola's athletic awards banquet on Monday night. Truncellito, a member of women's cross country and track teams won the Ernest Lagna Award while Turcinov took home the John R. Mohler Award after one of the most celebrated swim careers in Loyola history.

The Lagna Award, given annually to a senior female in strong academic standing, who has achieved significant athletic accomplishments, was presented by Loyola Vice President for Student Development and Dean of Students Susan Donovan. Truncellito fit the bill with her outstanding cross country career and her role on Loyola's second-year track program.

The Mohler Award, presented by the Loyola College Alumni Association to a senior male student-athlete who has excelled in the areas of athletics, scholarship and character, is awarded annually in memory of John R. Mohler, Loyola class of 1950. Turcinov, who holds 11 school records, has been named the MAAC Swimmer of the Year each of the last two seasons, and has set or reset over 30 school records in his four years at Loyola, won the award to cap a good night for swimming and diving.

The swim team swept the Fr. Francis McManamin Unsung Hero Awards with Nick Wooters winning on the men's side and Michelle Fronduti winning for the women. Wooters, who has medaled in seven MAAC Championship races over the past two seasons, set personal bests in the 100 and 200 breaststroke events this season while Fronduti completed a successful career with top times in the 50 and 100 freestyle, 100 butterfly and 100 backstroke events.

Lisa Davey, another swimmer at Loyola, captured the women's Medal of Merit award, which is given annually to a male and female with combined academic and athletic excellence at the College. Davey, with six Top-3 finishes at the MAAC Championships over the balance of her career, holds school records in the 200 butterfly and 200 breaststroke.

Lacrosse senior Matt Monfett won the men's Medal of Merit Award. Monfett leads the Greyhounds in scoring this season with 18 goals and 21 points and has 111 career points in his college career. Posting five multi-goal games this season, Monfett has had games where he has scored four or more goals a total of six times in his career, making him a very dangerous scoring threat.

Monfett's teammate Grant Halford was one of four individuals to be named Leadership Award honorees. The Award, which recognizes student-athletes who display qualities of integrity, enthusiasm, initiative, leadership and physical and moral courage, was split on both the men's and women's sides.

Halford and Will Farrell of the crew team won on the men's side while Erin Cyphers from women's lacrosse and Lindsay Tracey from women's soccer won for the women.

Halford is team co-captain of the men's lacrosse team and leads a Greyhound defense ranked No. 1 in the nation in penalty-killing percentage. Farrell stroked the crew team to a second-place finish at last weekend's MAAC Championships while Tracey has led the women's soccer team to a conference title in each of her four seasons. Cyphers has also had plenty of success on the field, leading the women's lacrosse team to three NCAA Tournaments and a Final Four.

The Diane Geppi-Aikens Inspriation Award, named after Loyola's late women's lacrosse coach, is awarded to an individual or individuals who have overcome obstacles or adversity to enjoy productive athletic careers at Loyola. This year's recipients were Shannon Kelleher of women's basketball and Jim Gottermeyer of men's soccer. Both overcame injury and tragedy to lead their respective teams.

Also honored were Loyola's top academic performers and once again, swimming and diving took center stage. Elizabeth Corvo, representing women's swimming and diving, and Mark Lachiewicz, representing men's swimming and diving, had the top individual GPA's while the women's cross country team had the top team GPA.

2005 Loyola College Athletic BanquetErnest Lagna Award - Jackie Truncellito (women's cross country/track)John R. Mohler Award - Marko Turcinov (men's swimming)

Fr. Francis Unsung Hero AwardsNick Wooters (men's swimming)Michelle Fronduti (women's swimming)

Leadership AwardsWill Farrell (men's crew) and Grant Halford (men's lacrosse)Erin Cyphers (women's lacrosse) and Lindsay Tracey (women's soccer)

Medals of MeritMatt Monfett (men's lacrosse)Lisa Davey (women's swimming)

Diane Geppi-Aikens Inspiration AwardJim Gottermeyer (men's soccer)Shannon Kelleher (women's basketball)