Skip to main content Skip to simple nav

GREYHOUNDS ATTEND APPLE TRAINING INSTITUTE

January 28, 2017

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. - Rower Maggie Rabenberg and cross country runner Tyler Schoch joined two Loyola University Maryland administrators at the APPLE Institute at the University of Virginia this month to partner with peers from across the nation in discussion of student-athlete substance abuse prevention.

Mary Beth Mudric, Loyola's director of student support and wellness promotion, and associate athletic director David Gerrity joined Rabenberg and Schoch at the event and presented on "Conversation For The Car Ride Home."

The NCAA Sport Science Institute partners with the University of Virginia Gordie Center to sponsor the APPLE Institute, an annual three-day national training institute for student-athletes, athletics administrators and campus partners dedicated to substance abuse prevention and health promotion of college athletes.

Participants learn how to apply the APPLE model within their athletics department to prevent student-athlete substance abuse and promote health and wellness. The SSI sponsors attendance for member schools to participate in the conferences.

In the summer of 2016, the APPLE Conference was renamed the APPLE Training Institute to better reflect the structure of the weekend. The curriculum-based APPLE model is led by a team of faculty and experts in the field of substance abuse prevention and college athletics. The weekend is structured around measured learning outcomes and participants leave with an action plan to take back to their institution. After 25 years, the mission, structure and goals of APPLE are the same that athletics departments across the country have come to expect from this experience.

Latest Tweets

More Headlines
Calendar
Thursday, Dec 21
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Drexel 7:00 PM Live Stats
Friday, Dec 22
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Basketball at Delaware 1:00 PM Live Stats
Saturday, Dec 23
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball at Memphis 11:00 AM Live Stats
Friday, Dec 29
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Navy 7:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Basketball at Navy 7:00 PM
Tuesday, Jan 2
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball at Army West Point 7:00 PM
Women's Basketball Army West Point 7:00 PM Live Stats
Friday, Jan 5
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Boston University 7:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Basketball at Boston University 11:00 AM
Monday, Jan 8
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball at Holy Cross 7:00 PM
Women's Basketball Holy Cross 7:00 PM Live Stats
Thursday, Jan 11
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Basketball American 11:30 AM Live Stats
Saturday, Jan 13
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field at Great Dane Invitational TBA
Monday, Jan 15
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving La Salle 12:00 PM
Friday, Jan 19
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis St. Bonaventure 7:30 PM Directions
Women's Tennis St. Bonaventure 7:30 PM Directions
Saturday, Jan 20
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field at Maryland Terrapin Invitational All Day
Wednesday, Jan 24
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving Towson 5:00 PM
Friday, Jan 26
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis St. Francis Brooklyn 7:30 PM Directions
Saturday, Jan 27
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Lacrosse North Carolina Scrimmage TBA
Women's Track & Field at Wes Brown Invitational TBA
Saturday, Feb 3
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis at Howard 12:00 PM
Women's Tennis at Howard 12:00 PM
Swimming & Diving Mount St. Marys 1:00 PM
Men's Lacrosse Richmond & York Scrimmages TBA
Thursday, Feb 8
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field at Sweetheart Multi-Mix TBA
Saturday, Feb 10
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Tennis at Saint Peters 12:00 PM
Men's Tennis at Saint Peters 12:00 PM
Men's Lacrosse at Virginia TBA
Wednesday, Feb 14
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving vs Patriot League Championships All Day
Thursday, Feb 15
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving vs Patriot League Championships All Day
Friday, Feb 16
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving vs Patriot League Championships All Day
Saturday, Feb 17
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Lacrosse Johns Hopkins TBA Live Stats
Women's Track & Field vs Patriot League Indoor Championships All Day
Sunday, Feb 18
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field vs Patriot League Indoor Championships All Day
Wednesday, Feb 21
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse at Johns Hopkins TBA
Saturday, Feb 24
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Lacrosse Lafayette TBA Live Stats
Sunday, Feb 25
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf Loyola Intercollegiate All Day
Women's Lacrosse at Florida TBA
Monday, Feb 26
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf Loyola Intercollegiate All Day
Wednesday, Feb 28
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Lacrosse Towson TBA Live Stats
Saturday, Mar 3
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse at Penn State TBA
Monday, Mar 5
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf vs Fort Lauderdale Intercollegiate All Day
Tuesday, Mar 6
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf vs Fort Lauderdale Intercollegiate All Day
Wednesday, Mar 7
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse Towson TBA Live Stats
Saturday, Mar 10
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse Princeton TBA Live Stats
Wednesday, Mar 14
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis at Morgan State 3:30 PM
Women's Tennis at Morgan State 3:30 PM
Women's Lacrosse Virginia TBA Live Stats

Results
Saturday, Dec 9
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Binghamton L, 77-64 Live Stats |
Women's Basketball Towson L, 76-67 Live Stats |
Monday, Dec 11
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Women's Basketball Maryland L, 114-45 | Live Stats