Skip to main content Skip to footer

Loyola Athletics Announces Nine Member Hall Of Fame Class

The Class of 2018 will be formally inducted to Loyola Athletics' Hall of Fame on March 9.
Dec. 4, 2017

BALTIMORE - Loyola University Maryland's Athletics Hall of Fame Committee has selected nine former Greyhound student-athletes who will form the Class of 2018 induction group.

The class will be formally inducted Friday, March 9, 2018 at an event on Loyola's Evergreen campus.

Members of the Loyola Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2018 include: Jamie Hanford '98 (men's lacrosse), Tara Vinje Kahnert '93 (volleyball), Samuel Mangione '88 (men's soccer), Ted McCarthy '95 (men's tennis), Michael Powell '98 (men's basketball), Stephanie Roberts Radebaugh '97 (women's lacrosse and soccer), Cindy Campagna Rohde '78 (women's basketball, lacrosse and volleyball), Lewis Smith '62 (men's cross country, swimming and track and field) and Marko Turcinov '05 (men's swimming and diving).

"As we continue to enhance the future of Loyola Athletics, it is exciting to honor our past and announce these nine former student-athletes as our newest Hall of Fame members," said Donna Woodruff, Loyola's assistant vice president and director of athletics. "I look forward to celebrating their impressive contributions as members of the Greyhounds family."

To purchase a ticket or table to the March 9 Hall of Fame induction dinner, or to learn more about event sponsorship opportunities, visit or contact Katie McNeely at Further details regarding the event will be forthcoming.

Meet The Inductees

Jamie Hanford Jamie Hanford was a three-time USILA All-American for the men's lacrosse team, leading the Greyhounds' defense as the team reached the NCAA Semifinals for the second time in school history at the end of the 1998 season. Hanford earned All-America First Team honors that year as the top cover defender who also was the team's primary faceoff specialist. He was the program's career leader in ground balls until the 2017 season, picking up 286 during his tenure, and he graduated in 1998 as the school's all-time leader in faceoff percentage.
Tara Vinje Kahnert Tara Vinje Kahnert was one of the most accomplished volleyball players in Loyola history and led the Greyhounds to back-to-back Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) Championships in 1991 and 1992. A middle blocker, Vinje compiled more than 1,000 kills and 300 blocks for the Greyhounds and was named the MAAC Championships Most Outstanding Player in 1991 and 1992 after leading Loyola to its only league titles as an NCAA Division I team. She was the MAAC Player of the Year in 1991, and she earned All-MAAC honors in 1991 and 1992. Vinje was a three-time MAAC All-Academic Team member and also became the first Loyola female student-athlete to be a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American, earning third-team recognition as a junior and second-team accolades as a senior.
Sam Mangione Samuel Mangione was a two-time All-ECAC Metro Conference choice for the men's soccer team and was a tri-captain on teams that reached the NCAA Quarterfinals in 1986 and 1987. During his four years with the Greyhounds, the last three as a starter, Loyola went 58-16-9, and Mangione led the team to NCAA Tournament wins over Virginia (twice), William & Mary and George Mason. He had 13 assists in 1986, a mark that stands second in school single-season history, and his 24 career assists are tied for eighth all-time.
Ted McCarthy Ted McCarthy was the men's tennis team's No. 1 singles player for three seasons and a standout in the classroom. As a freshman in 1992, McCarthy became the only player in Loyola history to win a MAAC singles title, and he teamed with Bob Cusak for the conference doubles crown, as well. He led the Greyhounds to a trio of top-three team performances at the MAAC Championships and was a three-time MAAC All-Academic Team honoree. He was also the 1994 recipient of the Loyola Leadership and Greyhound Scholarship Awards.
Michael Powell Michael Powell is the only men's basketball player in Loyola history to earn All-MAAC First Team recognition three times, and he was one of 25 players named to the MAAC 25th Anniversary Team. He graduated from Loyola in 1998 ranked sixth in all-time points (1,580), despite playing only three seasons for the Greyhounds. He led the MAAC in scoring in 1995-96 (538 total, 19.9 per game) and 1997-98 (643, 23.1), with his senior-year average ranking seventh in the NCAA. He currently ranks in the top-10 in school history in several career, season and game categories, including free throws made in a season (1st, 207), 3-pointers made in a game (T-3rd, 7), and free-throw percentage in a game (1st, 1.000, 16 of 16).
Stephanie Roberts Radebaugh Stephanie Roberts Radebaugh was an impact player on both the lacrosse and soccer fields for the Greyhounds, earning IWLCA All-America First Team honors as a defensive midfielder for the lacrosse team in 1996 and 1997. A shut-down defender for the Greyhounds, Roberts helped the women's lacrosse team reach the NCAA Semifinals in 1994 and 1996 and the championship game in 1997. On the soccer pitch, Roberts helped the Greyhounds win 47 matches, two MAAC regular-season championships and two MAAC Tournament titles.
Cindy Campagna Rohde Cindy Campagna Rohde was a three-sport student-athlete who played basketball, lacrosse and volleyball. A standout on the lacrosse field, Campagna was a four-year starter on defense for the Greyhounds, locking down on the opponent's top offensive player. She excelled in transition, as well, and earned All-Maryland honors as a junior and senior in 1977 and 1978. She also was named the team's Most Valuable Player during her final season. She will join her husband, Mark Rohde '76, as one of two husband-wife duos in the Loyola Athletics Hall of Fame (Matt Dwan '95 and Michelle Meyer '96).
Lewis Smith Lewis Smith was selected as the "Golden Greyhound" of this induction class, honoring his career as a runner and swimmer. Smith was a four-year letterwinner in cross country and track and field and and two-year letterwinner in swimming, earning All-America honors in the pool for the backstroke. He captained the cross country team in 1960 and 1961 and was a member of track's Mason-Dixon Conference 4xMile relay teams in 1959 and 1960. He earned the Block L award for cross country leadership in 1961, and the 1962 graduate spent two years in Loyola's ROTC program. Smith was a member of the U.S. Modern Pentathlon Team from 1965-66 before serving two tours of duty in Vietnam. He retired as a Lt. Colonel in 1993.
Marko Turcinov Marko Turcinov is one of the most accomplished swimmers in Loyola history, setting three MAAC and a myriad of school records during his time as a Greyhound. He was named the MAAC Outstanding Male Swimmer in 2004 and 2005, and at the time of his graduation he held MAAC records in the 100- and 200-yard butterfly and the 200-yard individual medley. Turcinov was a three-time Most Valuable Performer for the swimming and diving team and earned Loyola's John R. Mohler Award as the top male senior student-athlete in 2005.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


proud sponsors of greyhound athletics