Skip to main content Skip to simple nav

Loyola Athletics Continues Strong Performance In NCAA Grad Rates

Loyola student-athletes have the highest NCAA Graduation Success Rate in the State of Maryland.
Oct. 30, 2014

BALTIMORE - Loyola University Maryland had the highest NCAA Graduation Success Rate percentage in the State of Maryland, according to the numbers released this week by the national association.

For the second year in a row, eight Greyhounds teams recorded scores of 100 percent in the report as Loyola achieved a 95 percent cumulative Graduation Success Rate score for the 2004-2007 cohorts that make up this year's report. The rate is tied for 25th among the 346 NCAA Division I schools included.

Loyola has been ranked in the top-25 nationally of the overall Graduation Success Rate in each of the report's 10 years. The Patriot League continued to lead all NCAA Division I conferences in the report with a combined rate of 93 percent from its 10 full-member institutions

"Loyola student-athletes continue to impress us with their dedication and efforts in the classroom and in their arenas of competition, and we are proud that the NCAA report reflects that," said Jim Paquette, assistant vice president and director of athletics at Loyola. "It is a reflection on their work and the tremendous network of support at Loyola that the University is able to achieve the highest overall rate in the State of Maryland. We are grateful to our Student-Athlete Support Services group, the faculty and coaching staffs here who help them during their careers."

Loyola attained 100 percent scores for men's cross country, men's lacrosse, men's soccer, men's swimming and diving, men's tennis, women's basketball, women's rowing and women's tennis.

The NCAA developed the Graduation Success Rate as part of its academic reform initiative to more accurately assess the academic success of student-athletes. The Graduation Success Rate also accounts for midyear enrollees and is calculated for every sport, which increases the total number of student-athletes tracked for graduation by more than 37 percent.

Under the calculation, institutions are not penalized for outgoing transfer students who leave in good academic standing. Instead, the outgoing transfers are passed to the receiving institution's Graduation Success Rate cohort.

The NCAA also calculates the federal graduation rate for student-athletes, which does not hold institutions accountable for transfer student-athletes; it is the only rate by which to compare student-athletes to the general student body.

Latest Tweets

More Headlines
Calendar
Friday, Jan 19
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis St. Bonaventure 7:30 PM Directions
Women's Tennis St. Bonaventure 7:30 PM Directions
Saturday, Jan 20
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball at Colgate 2:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Track & Field at Maryland Terrapin Invitational 10:00 AM Live Stats
Sunday, Jan 21
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Basketball Colgate 12:00 PM Live Stats
Wednesday, Jan 24
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball at Lehigh 7:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Basketball Lehigh 7:00 PM Live Stats
Swimming & Diving Towson 5:00 PM
Friday, Jan 26
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis St. Francis Brooklyn 7:30 PM Directions
Saturday, Jan 27
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Army West Point 4:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Basketball at Army West Point 3:00 PM
Women's Track & Field at Wes Brown Invitational 9:30 AM
Men's Lacrosse North Carolina Scrimmage TBA
Wednesday, Jan 31
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball at Boston University 7:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 3
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Holy Cross 4:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Basketball at Holy Cross 3:00 PM
Men's Tennis at Howard 12:00 PM
Women's Tennis at Howard 12:00 PM
Swimming & Diving Mount St. Marys 1:00 PM
Men's Lacrosse Richmond & York Scrimmages TBA
Wednesday, Feb 7
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball American 7:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Basketball at American 7:00 PM
Thursday, Feb 8
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field at Sweetheart Multi-Mix TBA
Saturday, Feb 10
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Basketball Lafayette 2:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Tennis at Saint Peters 12:00 PM
Men's Tennis at Saint Peters 12:00 PM
Men's Lacrosse at Virginia TBA Live Stats
Wednesday, Feb 14
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving vs Patriot League Championships All Day
Thursday, Feb 15
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving vs Patriot League Championships All Day
Friday, Feb 16
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving vs Patriot League Championships All Day
Saturday, Feb 17
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Lacrosse Johns Hopkins TBA Live Stats
Women's Track & Field vs Patriot League Indoor Championships All Day
Swimming & Diving vs Patriot League Championships All Day
Sunday, Feb 18
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field vs Patriot League Indoor Championships All Day
Wednesday, Feb 21
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse at Johns Hopkins TBA
Saturday, Feb 24
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Lacrosse Lafayette TBA Live Stats
Sunday, Feb 25
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Tennis at Monmouth 2:00 PM
Men's Golf Loyola Intercollegiate All Day
Women's Lacrosse at Florida TBA
Monday, Feb 26
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf Loyola Intercollegiate All Day
Wednesday, Feb 28
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Lacrosse Towson TBA Live Stats
Friday, Mar 2
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field vs ECAC Indoor Championships All Day
Saturday, Mar 3
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse at Penn State TBA
Monday, Mar 5
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf vs Fort Lauderdale Intercollegiate All Day
Tuesday, Mar 6
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf vs Fort Lauderdale Intercollegiate All Day
Wednesday, Mar 7
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse Towson TBA Live Stats
Saturday, Mar 10
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse Princeton TBA Live Stats
Wednesday, Mar 14
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis at Morgan State 3:30 PM
Women's Tennis at Morgan State 3:30 PM
Women's Lacrosse Virginia TBA Live Stats
Saturday, Mar 17
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis La Salle 12:00 PM
Women's Tennis La Salle 12:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 24
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Crew at Lehigh TBA
Sunday, Mar 25
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Crew vs Occoquan Sprints All Day
Men's Golf vs Kingsmill Intercollegiate All Day
Monday, Mar 26
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf vs Kingsmill Intercollegiate All Day
Saturday, Mar 31
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Crew vs Murphy Cup All Day
Saturday, Apr 14
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Crew vs Knecht Cup All Day
Sunday, Apr 15
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Crew vs Knecht Cup All Day

Results
Saturday, Jan 13
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field Great Dane Invitational NTS | Live Stats
Sunday, Jan 14
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Lafayette W, 83-77 Live Stats |
Women's Basketball Lafayette L, 65-54 Live Stats |
Monday, Jan 15
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving La Salle Men: L, 209-89; Women: W, 164-136 |
Wednesday, Jan 17
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Bucknell L, 78-70 Live Stats |
Women's Basketball Bucknell W, 68-65 | Live Stats
Friday, Jan 19
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Men's Tennis St. Bonaventure 7:30 PM | Directions
Women's Tennis St. Bonaventure 7:30 PM | Directions