Skip to main content Skip to simple nav

U.S. News & World Report Gives Loyola High Marks

Jenkins Hall on Loyola University Maryland's campus
Sept. 12, 2017

BALTIMORE - Loyola University Maryland has tied for No. 4 among the best universities in the North region in the U.S. News & World Report's "Best Colleges" guide for 2018. Loyola has been ranked in the top five more than a decade.

In addition to being ranked No. 4 in the North Region, Loyola was also listed at No. 23 for "Best Value Schools." The University's undergraduate engineering program was ranked No. 44 among all schools that do not have a graduate engineering program. Loyola was also included on the list of "A+ Schools for B Students."

U.S. News analyzed more than 650 regional universities in various categories including retention and graduation rates, class sizes, student/faculty ratios, and acceptance rates. The indicators were assigned a weight or grade based on U.S. News' criteria. Loyola earned 92% out of 100.

"Being consistently recognized as one of the leading higher education institutions in the country is an honor, but at Loyola University Maryland we take the greatest pride in the outstanding scholarship and teaching of our faculty, the achievements of our students, and the success of our alumni who truly graduate as Ignatian citizens," said Rev. Brian F. Linnane, S.J., president. "The real impact of the Jesuit, liberal arts education our students receive is demonstrated as they leave Loyola and become active members of their communities who are dedicated to applying their knowledge to bring about greater justice and peace."

In July, Loyola More information on the 2018 U.S. News & World Report "Best Colleges" rankings is available at U.S News & World Report.

- from Loyola.edu

Latest Tweets

More Headlines
Calendar
Wednesday, Jan 17
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Bucknell 7:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Basketball at Bucknell 6:00 PM Live Stats
Friday, Jan 19
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis St. Bonaventure 7:30 PM Directions
Women's Tennis St. Bonaventure 7:30 PM Directions
Saturday, Jan 20
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball at Colgate 2:00 PM
Women's Track & Field at Maryland Terrapin Invitational 10:00 AM
Sunday, Jan 21
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Basketball Colgate 12:00 PM Live Stats
Wednesday, Jan 24
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball at Lehigh 7:00 PM
Women's Basketball Lehigh 7:00 PM Live Stats
Swimming & Diving Towson 5:00 PM
Friday, Jan 26
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis St. Francis Brooklyn 7:30 PM Directions
Saturday, Jan 27
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Army West Point 4:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Basketball at Army West Point 3:00 PM
Women's Track & Field at Wes Brown Invitational 9:30 AM
Men's Lacrosse North Carolina Scrimmage TBA
Wednesday, Jan 31
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball at Boston University 7:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 3
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Holy Cross 4:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Basketball at Holy Cross 3:00 PM
Men's Tennis at Howard 12:00 PM
Women's Tennis at Howard 12:00 PM
Swimming & Diving Mount St. Marys 1:00 PM
Men's Lacrosse Richmond & York Scrimmages TBA
Wednesday, Feb 7
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Basketball at American 7:00 PM
Thursday, Feb 8
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field at Sweetheart Multi-Mix TBA
Saturday, Feb 10
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Tennis at Saint Peters 12:00 PM
Men's Tennis at Saint Peters 12:00 PM
Men's Lacrosse at Virginia TBA Live Stats
Wednesday, Feb 14
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving vs Patriot League Championships All Day
Thursday, Feb 15
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving vs Patriot League Championships All Day
Friday, Feb 16
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving vs Patriot League Championships All Day
Saturday, Feb 17
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Lacrosse Johns Hopkins TBA Live Stats
Women's Track & Field vs Patriot League Indoor Championships All Day
Swimming & Diving vs Patriot League Championships All Day
Sunday, Feb 18
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field vs Patriot League Indoor Championships All Day
Wednesday, Feb 21
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse at Johns Hopkins TBA
Saturday, Feb 24
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Lacrosse Lafayette TBA Live Stats
Sunday, Feb 25
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Tennis at Monmouth 2:00 PM
Men's Golf Loyola Intercollegiate All Day
Women's Lacrosse at Florida TBA
Monday, Feb 26
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf Loyola Intercollegiate All Day
Wednesday, Feb 28
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Lacrosse Towson TBA Live Stats
Friday, Mar 2
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field vs ECAC Indoor Championships All Day
Saturday, Mar 3
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse at Penn State TBA
Monday, Mar 5
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf vs Fort Lauderdale Intercollegiate All Day
Tuesday, Mar 6
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf vs Fort Lauderdale Intercollegiate All Day
Wednesday, Mar 7
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse Towson TBA Live Stats
Saturday, Mar 10
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Women's Lacrosse Princeton TBA Live Stats
Wednesday, Mar 14
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis at Morgan State 3:30 PM
Women's Tennis at Morgan State 3:30 PM
Women's Lacrosse Virginia TBA Live Stats
Saturday, Mar 17
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Tennis La Salle 12:00 PM
Women's Tennis La Salle 12:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 24
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Crew at Lehigh TBA
Sunday, Mar 25
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Crew vs Occoquan Sprints All Day
Men's Golf vs Kingsmill Intercollegiate All Day
Monday, Mar 26
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Men's Golf vs Kingsmill Intercollegiate All Day
Saturday, Mar 31
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Crew vs Murphy Cup All Day
Saturday, Apr 14
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Crew vs Knecht Cup All Day
Sunday, Apr 15
SPORT EVENT TIME COVERAGE
Crew vs Knecht Cup All Day

Results
Thursday, Jan 11
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Men's Basketball American L, 76-65 | Live Stats
Women's Basketball American L, 71-56 Live Stats |
Saturday, Jan 13
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Women's Track & Field Great Dane Invitational NTS | Live Stats
Sunday, Jan 14
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Lafayette W, 83-77 Live Stats |
Women's Basketball Lafayette L, 65-54 Live Stats |
Monday, Jan 15
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Swimming & Diving La Salle Men: L, 209-89; Women: W, 164-136 |
Wednesday, Jan 17
SPORT EVENT RESULT COVERAGE
Men's Basketball Bucknell 7:00 PM Live Stats |
Women's Basketball Bucknell 6:00 PM | Live Stats