Skip to main content Skip to footer

Loyola Celebrates 2015-2016 At Annual Banquet

May 2, 2016

Photo Gallery

BALTIMORE - Loyola University Maryland seniors Colleen Marshall and David Manning were the 2016 recipients of the Ernest Lagna and John R. Mohler Awards, respectively, as the top male and female senior student-athletes who excel in athletics, scholarship and character.

These awards, and many others, were presented on Monday evening at the 2015-2016 Loyola Athletic Awards Banquet held in McGuire Hall on the Evergreen Campus. In addition to the team and departmental awards, Loyola inducted its second class to the Maryland Iota Chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma, the national student-athlete honor society.

Marshall was the driving force behind the women's basketball team's best finish since joining the Patriot League in 2013-2014. She became the first player in conference history to be named to the All-Patriot League First Team, the League's All-Defensive Team and the All-Tournament Team, and she led the Greyhounds to their first-ever appearance in the Patriot League Championship Game. She leaves Loyola second all-time in points per game (14.2) and will graduate this month with a degree in biology-psychology.

Manning returned to the field this season after missing all of 2015 with a knee injury. A two-year starter on defense for the men's lacrosse team, Manning has been a part of two units that have been in the top-10 nationally for fewest goals allowed. After throwing himself into his rehab from knee surgery, Manning returned to earn All-Patriot League Second Team honors while serving as a team captain on a team that won its second Patriot League Championship in the last three seasons.

Several other awards were handed out to Loyola senior student-athletes, beginning with the Unsung Hero Awards.

Molly Wolf of the women's lacrosse team has backstopped the Greyhounds' defense over the last four years as one of the top goalkeepers in the game. She has made 10 or more saves 22 times during her career with her output matching the tremendous effort and intensity she shows on a daily basis.

Men's lacrosse graduate student Jeff Chase was the Men's Unsung Hero recipient after also returning to the field following a knee injury last year. His coaches and teammates have described Chase as having the biggest heart on the team, and his desire to play on multiple midfield lines made his indispensible to the Greyhounds.

Cara Egan, a member of the women's swimming and diving team, was the female recipient of the Leadership Award. Egan has served in many leadership roles across campus, and this year she served as the co-President of Loyola's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. Her efforts also led to the development of Junior H2ounds, a program aimed at teaching young Baltimore residents the skills necessary to prevent drowning incidents.

Two members of the men's tennis team were voted as the Men's Leadership Award recipients: Jordan Kuchta and Greg Olesnycky. Kuchta and Olesnycky both played at very high levels throughout their careers and were in different seasons recognized by their teammates as the team's Most Dedicated Players. This season, through their leadership efforts, the men's tennis team tied its all-time record for wins with 14.

A 2015 graduate of Loyola, Colleen Folan earned the Women's Medal of Merit after returning to the school this fall as a graduate student for her final year of eligibility with the women's soccer team. She was the co-President of Loyola's SAAC in 2014-2015, and she was also a member of the Green & Grey Society in 2014-2015. This year, she delayed starting her full-time job to help captain the Greyhounds to their first-ever appearance in the Patriot League Semifinals.

Franz Rassman was named the Men's Medal of Merit recipient after being named the Patriot League Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year. A three-year starter for the Greyhounds, Rassman was also the first player in program history to earn Academic All-District honors three times during his career at Loyola.

Chris Singlemann, a manager for the women's soccer team and active member of Loyola's student government, was named the recipient of the Student Service Award.

The Diane Geppi-Aikens Inspiration Award took on a special turn Monday night as the 2016 recipient was Geppi-Aikens' youngest daughter, Shannon Aikens of the women's lacrosse team.

In addition to the department-wide awards, student-athletes from each team received Most Dedicated and Most Valuable awards:



Most Valuable

Most Dedicated

Men's Basketball

Andre Walker

Tyler Hubbard

Men's Cross Country

Alex Saffadi

Thomas Porth

Men's Golf

Ethan Wall

William Wears

Men's Lacrosse

Pat Spencer

David Manning

Men's Rowing

Rob Moore

Ryan Brown

Men's Soccer

Matt Sanchez

Matt Bautista

Men's Swimming & Diving

Ben Cono

Ruslan Kopunek

Men's Tennis

Blest Jones

Jordan Kuchta

Women's Basketball

Colleen Marshall

Lisa Mirarchi

Women's Cross Country

Christina Daniels

Erica Canas

Women's Lacrosse

Maddy Lesher

Sabrina Tabasso

Women's Rowing

Natasha Murray

Keenan Gibbons

Women's Soccer

Rosy Hayes

Colleen Folan

Women's Swimming & Diving

Maddie Myers

Cara Egan

Women's Tennis

Amanda Lanciano

Megan Hahn

Women's Indoor Track & Field

Cordelia McGinn

Claire Scavone

Women's Outdoor Track & Field

Molly Smith

Sarah Askine

Women's Volleyball

Haley Puddy

Lauren Youngblood


Katherine Mosher

Meredith Timko




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


proud sponsors of greyhound athletics