Skip to main content Skip to footer

Fletcher, Paton Receive Top Awards At Athletics Banquet

Justin Ward was named the Diane Geppi-Aikens Inspiration Award Winner.

April 28, 2014

Photo Gallery

BALTIMORE - Loyola University Maryland seniors Joe Fletcher and Marlee Paton were the 2014 recipients of the John R. Mohler and Ernest Lagna Awards, respectively, as the top male and female senior student-athletes who excel in athletics, scholarship and character.

These awards, and many others, were presented on Monday evening at the 2013-2014 Loyola Athletic Awards Banquet held in McGuire Hall on the Evergreen Campus.

A co-captain of the men's lacrosse team that is currently ranked No. 1 nationally, Fletcher has excelled athletically and academically at Loyola. Last week, he was named the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year and the Patriot League Men's Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year. He also is a nominee for the Tewaaraton Award as the sports top player, and he helped lead the Greyhounds to a 16-7 victory on Sunday in the Patriot League Championship Game. Off the field, Fletcher has been co-president of Loyola's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and a member of the Green & Grey Society.

Paton will graduate from Loyola next month with a grade point average near 3.5 and having accomplished things no one in the women's lacrosse program have in the past. She is the first Loyola women's lacrosse player to post 100 goals, 75 assists, 200 points and 100 ground balls in her career. She has been named the Midfielder of the Year in both the BIG EAST Conference (2012) and Patriot League (2014) and is a four-time all-conference performer while she has already earned three All-America honors prior to this year's announcement of the awards.

Several other awards were handed out to Loyola senior student-athletes, beginning with the Unsung Hero Awards.

Women's lacrosse senior Katie Reinhard picked up the Women's Unsung Hero Award while helping the Greyhounds earn four-straight bids to the NCAA Championships. She has been a three-year starter on the Loyola defense while being heavily involved with the school's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and Leadership Academy.

After battling through injuries most of his career, Zach Kane of the men's soccer team stepped into a starting role this year and was an inspirational and motivational on and off the field for the Greyhounds.

The Women's Leadership Award went to track and field's Jacqueline Porter who has been a team captain and leader for the program. Her coach lauded her as being an outstanding communicator with her peers, coaches and administrators, and through her actions and words, she has served as a mentor to younger student-athletes.

Thurman Van Riper has been a leader at Loyola since he stepped foot on the campus. As a senior, he served on the school's Green & Grey Society, a group of 14 student leaders who serve as liaisons to the president, administration and board of trustees, and as co-president of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. A two-year starter in goal on the Greyhounds' men's soccer team, Van Riper had the trust and respect of his teammates as a hardworking and committed player and leader.

The Women's Medal of Merit went to track and field and cross country's Kiera Harrison who in the fall became the first Loyola student-athlete in any sport to qualify for an NCAA Championships event. She raced at the NCAA Cross Country Championships in Indiana and also has been competing this year as a graduate student at Loyola.

Stephen Dooley of the men's soccer team was the Men's Medal of Merit recipient. Dooley was a two-time Scholar All-American, Patriot League All-Academic honoree, three-time all-confernece and two-time Regional All-America honoree at Loyola.

Men's lacrosse senior Justin Ward was given the Diane Geppi-Aikens Inspiration Award. Ward was a lightly recruited players out of high school and through his hard work, study of the game and dedication to his team has become an All-American who is second nationally in assists and a nominee for the Tewaaraton Award as the game's top player.

The women's tennis team and Head Coach Rick McClure was tabbed for having the highest cumulative grade point average among the Greyhounds' 18 teams, swimming and diving's Stephanie Baliko men's soccer's Thurman Van Riper were the two senior student-athletes with the highest grade point averages.

In addition to the department-wide awards, student-athletes from each team received Most Dedicated and Most Valuable awards:


Most Valuable

Most Dedicated

Men's Basketball

Dylon Cormier

Denzel Brito

Men's Cross Country

Patrick Makles

Chris O'Brien

Men's Golf

Matt Oshrine

Brendan Lemp

Men's Lacrosse

Joe Fletcher

Justin Ward

Men's Rowing

Joseph Wawrzynski

James McCarron

Men's Soccer

Stephen Dooley

Thurman Van Riper

Men's Swimming & Diving

Ruslan Kopunek

Rob Walker

Men's Tennis

Connor Pietrak

Alex Castro

Women's Basketball

Nai Brown

Nicole Krusen

Women's Cross Country

Kiera Harrison

Anna Bosse

Women's Lacrosse

Marlee Paton

Taryn Van Thof

Women's Rowing

Eleni Papadatos

Colleen Metzler

Women's Soccer

Didi Haracic

Gabrielle Tana

Women's Swimming & Diving

Caitlin Cronin

Erin Shea

Women's Tennis

Megan Hahn

Emily Hughes

Women's Indoor Track & Field

Kiera Harrison

Jackie Porter

Women's Outdoor Track & Field

Crystal Godette

Jenna Smith

Women's Volleyball

Jac Bullock

Jac Bullock


Katherine Mosher

Marissa Malchione




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


proud sponsors of greyhound athletics